



COMMISSION FOR UNIVERSITY EDUCATION

www.cue.or.ke

P.O. Box 54999-00200 Nairobi • Redhill Rd. off Limuru Rd., Gigiri • Tel. 254 (020) 7205000 Email: info@cue.or.ke • Facebook page: Commission for University Education Kenya • Twitter handle@CUE Kenya

PUBLIC ADVISORY

A. INTRODUCTION

The Commission is mandated under Section 20 (1) of the Universities Act No. 42 of 2012 and Section 43 of the Universities Regulations 2014, to regulate establishment of university campuses in Kenya.

In the year 2015, the Commission embarked on inspecting Campuses of Chartered Universities in Kenya in line with the relevant legal provisions.

This is therefore to advise the public that, pursuant to the above provisions, the Commission has evaluated declared university satellite campuses in Western, Nyanza and Rift Valley Regions.

B. CAMPUS EVALUATION CRITERIA AND ACCREDITATION STATUS

A total of thirty two (32) campuses from the Regions of Western, Nyanza and Rift Valley Regions were inspected in the year 2015.

Using the evaluation criteria designed for campuses, the inspected campuses fell under one of the following three (3) categories of accreditation categories:

1) Accreditation - Campuses that obtained a score of 70% and above on the evaluation criteria

2) Campuses under Review

- a) Campuses that obtained a score of 50% and above but below 70 on the evaluation criteria: or
- b) Campuses that obtained a score above 70% but lacked:
 - Evidence of ownership of facilities or valid lease agreement;
 - Adequate number of appropriate academic staff, including programme leaders, to support the academic programmes on offer;
 - iii. Appropriate library building/space with the various functional areas.

3) Identification for Closure:

- a) Campuses that obtained a score of less than 50% on the evaluation criteria; or
- b) Campuses that obtained a score above 50% but less than half on the item overall score in the following areas:
 - Campus is organized into a spatial unit with tuition areas (lecture rooms, library, seminar rooms etc), administrative areas (admin& academic offices) and residential/recreational are organized into one functional unit in one area.
 - ii. Campus is situated in a location/environment compatible with learning environment not:
 - distractive to learning- bars, casinos brothels etc;
 - an impediment to learning- noise levels- bus parks, markets airports etc
 - Injurious to students' health quarries, dumpsites, factories etc.

Table 1: Summary of Accreditation Status of Campuses Inspected in the various Regions

Region/County	Month Inspected	Accredited	Campuses Under Review	Identified For Closure	TOTAL
Nairobi	January/February 2015	10	3	8	21
	October 2015	-	1	1	2
Lodwar	August 2015	1	-	-	1
Western, Nyanza and Rift Valley	September/October 2015	8	13	11	32
TOTAL	January-December 2015	19	17	20	56

Details on the Accreditation Status of the Campuses in the various Regions are indicated on Table 2.

Table 2: Detailed Report on the Accreditation Status of the Campuses in the cited Regions

Ac	creditation Status		Chartered University	Campus	Date of Approval of Status by Commission	
	A. WESTERN, NYANZA AND RIFT VALLEY REGIONS					
1)	Accredited	1)	Catholic University of East Africa	Gaba	15 th January 2016	
		2)	Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology	Kisii		
		3)	Kenyatta University	Kericho		
		4)	Mount Kenya University	Kitale		
		5)	Mount Kenya University	Kakamega		
		6)	Mount Kenya University	Eldoret		
		7)	Mount Kenya University	Kisii		
		8)	St. Paul's University	Nakuru		
2)	Campuses Under	1)	Jaramogi Oginga Odinga of Science and Technology	Kisumu	14 th January 2016	
	Review	2)	Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology	Nakuru		
		3)	Kisii University	Kisumu		
		4)	Kisii University	Kericho		
		5)	Kisii University	Kitale		
		6)	Laikipia University	Nakuru		
		7)	Laikipia University	Eldoret		
		8)	Laikipia University	Naivasha		
		9)	Moi University	Kitale		
		10)	Moi University	Odera Akang'o		
		11)	University of Eastern Africa - Baraton	Eldoret		
		12)	University of Eldoret	Eldoret CBD		
		13)	University of Kabianga	Kapkatet		

3)	Campuses	1)	Kisii University	Eldoret	14 th January 2016
	Identified	2)	Kisii University	Eldama Ravine	
	for Closure	3)	Kisii University	Nyamira	
		4)	Kisii University	Kabarnet	
		5)	Kisii University	Migori	
		6)	Kisii University	Ogembo	
		7)	Kisii University	Keroka	
		8)	Kisii University	Kehancha	
		9)	Kisii University	Kapenguria	
		10)	Kisii University	Isebania	
		11)	Laikipia University	Nyahururu	

Any university operating an unauthorized campus in the country is in contravention of the Universities Act No. 42 of 2012. Members of the public are being advised to report any suspicious institution to csoffice@cue.or.ke or info@cue.or.ke

C. DECISION ARRIVED AT BY THE COMMISSION

The Universities with **Campuses under Review** have been given **90 days** to address the various aspects raised in the evaluation report. The Commission will, thereafter, re-inspect the Campuses to ascertain satisfactory evidence-based response to the various aspects raised. Unsatisfactory responses in the above considered Campuses shall lead to their closure.

Campuses identified for closure in the latter circuit, especially in the Western, Nyanza and Rift Valley Regions, have been given a 90-days notification period to wind up and relocate the students to accredited Campuses.

Of great concern to the Commission was the Kisii University, whose thirteen (13) Campuses in the Western, Nyanza and Rift Valley Regions were inspected. Following the inspection exercise, ten (10) of the thirteen (13) fell below the expected threshold and have been identified for closure. The Commission is, therefore considering auditing all the systems of Kisii University to ensure quality in the delivery of university education.

Inspection of Campuses in Kenya is still ongoing and currently, consideration is being given to the Central Fastern and Coast Regions of Kenya.

POSITION ON SUBSTANDARD MASTERS AND DOCTORAL QUALIFICATIONS AWARDED BY KISII UNIVERSITY

The Commission wishes to notify the public that it does not recognize the degrees of five (5) students who were awarded PhDs by Kisii University in December 2014. Student admissions were highly irregular based on a postgraduate credit transfer policy that is not provided for in either the Kisii University Statutes or the Universities Standards and Guidelines, 2014.

The table below provides admission numbers of those students whose Doctoral degrees have not been recognized by the Commission for University Education.

Admission numbers of Doctoral students who were admitted at Kisii University from other Universities irregularly

S/NO.	ADMISSION NUMBER
1.	DED/00030/13
2.	DAS/60037/14
3.	DAS/60034/14
4.	DAS/60069/14
5.	DAS/60048/14

The Commission would also wish to state that it does not recognize the degrees of two (2) students who were admitted into Master Degree programmes at Kisii University from other local universities irregularly. Their admission numbers are as follows:

- 1. Admission No. CM/11/00429/08
- 2. Admission No. AGR/PGF/001/11

For further enquiries contact:
Commission Secretary
P.O. Box 54999-00200 Nairobi
csoffice@cue.or.ke or info@cue.or.ke

PROF. HENRY THAIRU
CHAIRMAN
COMMISSION FOR UNIVERSITY EDUCATION

Quality: The Agenda